Michael Morpurgo

Flamingo Boy

$14.99

or make 4 interest-free payments of $3.75 AUD fortnightly with More info

+
A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION.

This is a landmark new novel from the nation’s favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents’ farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn’t understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.

Only there’s a kind sergeant among the Germans – a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken – and maybe even the whole town…

Michael Morpurgo OBE is one of Britain's best-loved writers for children. He has written over 100 books and won many prizes, including the Smarties Prize, the Blue Peter Book Award and the Whitbread Award. His recent bestselling novels include ‘Shadow', ‘A Medal for Leroy' and ‘Little Manfred'.His novel ‘War Horse' has been successfully adapted as a West End and Broadway theatre play and a major film by Steven Spielberg. A former Children's Laureate, Michael is also the co-founder, with his wife Clare, of the charity Farms for City Children.

PUBLISHER: HARPER COLLINS
DATE:18/02/2019
ISBN:9780008134655
CATEGORY:CHILD FICTION
FORMAT:BPB
FORMAT SIZE:198 X 129
PAGE EXTENT:288
IMPRINT:UK CHILD FICTION

Shipping and Returns

Free Standard Shipping over $150

Returns/ Exchange Policy

NDIS

Here at EveryHuman, we provide clothing and footwear with subtle modifications that makes the dressing process easier for you every day of the year. If your NDIS plan includes funding for these items then we would love to supply your assistive technology needs.

For more information, please view our NDIS page here.

Connect With Us

#EveryHuman @EveryHumanAU